Purpose

Finding Purpose. (3) Good News!

Did you ever read one of those “Choose Your Own Adventure” books? I’m not sure if they’re around anymore, but I sure enjoyed them when I was a kid.

Truthfully, I had a love-hate relationship with them. I seldom liked my ending, so I’d go back to the previous scene to choose a different ending. I wasn’t satisfied even when I had read all the endings. I remember feeling so disappointed that there never seemed to be a big turning point – that one decision a character made that changed the trajectory of their lives.

Life is a lot like those choose your own adventures.  Only, you can’t go back a few pages to try another path. Time moves us onward, and we try our best. We walk along, stumble, get bumps and bruises, then try again.

As life goes on, we find ourselves taking shortcuts, rushing to step in front of someone at the checkout, glaring at someone, telling a “little” lie, taking a bit of something extra that wasn’t ours… the list goes on and on.

What if everything you ever did was brought out in the open for everyone to see and it was decided that you needed to be punished? For everything.

None of us has lived a perfect life. We have all chosen at some point to do wrong. We just can’t make ourselves be good enough! We deserve to be punished.

What if, being declared guilty, and preparing for the sentence to be handed down…

This Jesus shows up and says “Let him go. Let her go. I’ll take all their punishment.”

True story. For me. For you. We are all in an adventure and we are left with a choice.

Do you leave the courtroom and choose to accept that this really just happened? Or do you walk away – like nothing happened?

“For it is by believing in your heart that you are made right with God, and it is by openly declaring your faith that you are saved. If you openly declare that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.” Romans 10:9-10 NLT

Doesn’t matter what you’ve done. It’s all paid for. Jesus did this for you, because He cares for you. He wants you to be free of the burdens, the mind games, the worry…  Jesus came to give us freedom!

“Then Jesus said,“Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest.” Matthew 11:28 NLT

“My purpose is to give them a rich and satisfying life.” John 10:10b NLT

If you believe Jesus is the Son of God and that He came to set you free, I invite you to take the next step of accepting Him into your life. You can say this prayer with me right now.

God,
I’ve done some stuff I’m not proud of. Forgive me.
I know Jesus is Your Son. He took my punishment so that I could live free.
I accept Him as my Forgiver, my Leader, and my Friend.
I want to know You and to become the best version of myself.
With Your help and because of Jesus, this is possible.
Thank You for Jesus. For saving me.

If you’ve made that decision today, welcome to The Family!!! Please let someone know… someone who can support you on your new journey: a friend or an acquaintance, a local pastor, or email me here.

What does this have to do with your purpose? When we walk with God, He helps us we become the best versions of ourselves. We can’t do this without Him. He knows us better than we know ourselves. He made us and has a plan for our lives. A very good plan.

Come to Me all who are weary and I will give you rest. (1)

Leave a Reply

